When you add a new payment method to your Uber account, or have one that hasn't been used for several days, Uber may need to verify it by issuing a temporary authorization hold.
At the start of a trip, Uber may place a temporary authorization hold for the upfront price of the trip on this payment method. It appears as a "pending" charge on your account's payment method. This is a standard industry practice.
IF THIS IS ONLY A HOLD, WHY WAS I CHARGED TWICE?
Uber voids the authorization hold after your trip is complete. Sometimes, an authorization hold isn't processed by your bank at the same speed as the actual charge - leading your account balance to appear as if you were charged twice.
When you check the charge, you'll see the hold stays in pending status, until it disappears from your account.
HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE FOR THE AUTHORIZATION HOLD TO BE REVERSED?
Uber reverses the hold immediately after your trip ends. This normally takes 3-5 business days to reflect in your account.
HOW CAN I SEE WHAT I WAS ACTUALLY CHARGED?
You can always visit the "Your Trips" section in your Uber app and review the receipt from any previous trip. You'll be able to see the amount, the payment method that was charged and several other trip details you might be interested in reviewing.